remembering God’s ordained examples

There are many things that I do in the course of a day, some which seem rather mundane and others that would seem more spiritual; certainly a variety things that I might categorize and file into different folders (job/work, exercise, daydreaming, eating, commuting, daily hygiene, sex, parenting, dog petting, sleeping, …).  Which ones are good…better…best?  Which ones are bad…wicked…evil?

Now that would be an easy sort.  Morning quiet time…good, no, better.  Morning commute…hmmm, good?  Cutting off the jerk who just tried to come up the right lane…bad.  Three job-related tasks accomplished quickly…definitely good!  Thoughts about the guy at work who gets under my skin…evil?  Three minutes daydreaming…uhhmm, petting the dog, …okay, maybe not an easy sort. 

What’s my criteria?  How about productivity?  Okay, based on whose standard?  Well, if not productivity, how about the ‘peace’ meter…do I have peace when I do this thing, do I feel good about it?  Fruit, that one is straight from the Word…but not always immediately seen.  So, if I want to cast off the non-essentials…streamline my endeavors…focus on the most important things, what criteria do I use and how do I apply it to this huge array of activity?

And this is where 1 Corinthians 10 comes in to instruct me with examples.  v6 ‘now these things took place as examples for us, that we might not desire evil as they did.’  v11 ‘now these things happened to them as an example, but they were written down for our instruction…’.  Okay, so I look back at these examples and learn.  I don’t say “look at those foolish Israelites”.  I do rejoice with humility in God’s faithfulness and provision.  I especially celebrate the blood-purchased blessings I enjoy…all of them. 

AND… (here’s my list of criteria,  boiled down into one) v31 ‘So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.’  If it glorifies God, it will be a sweet aroma to Him.  If it glorifies God, it will ‘please’ Him.  If it is of faith it will glorify Him.  If it is not of faith, it is sin. 

So, today I may glorify God in a job well done.  I may glorify God in some quiet daydreaming.  I may glorify God in the enjoyment of the mundane.  And as one of my favorite teachers has said, I may glorify God in my drinking of orange juice.

This entry was posted in directed from the Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

