Adam first, and us too…Sin

“The devil made me do it!”   That excuse rings clearly enough in our minds to use it as a springboard here.  More recently, a supply of authors have used the imagery of spiritual warfare to influence our understanding and response to temptation and sin through various novels where the devil’s minions…demons… are the cause of our struggle and behind every tree.  I think there has been some good…and some bad that has come from this sort of focus on spiritual warfare.  Perhaps the christian has found too comfortable a spot to lay his blame/guilt.

There are also the foolish, who say in their heart ‘there is no God’, yet immediately accuse this non-existent God as the cause of the many great calamities that rock our world.  I’m not sure that these really care too much about where the blame or guilt is laid.

But who do you and I hold accountable for ‘our sins’ and do we have an accurate understanding of Sin?

The Law was given to show us our sin so that we might know Sin and so that we might REJOICE forevermore in the Glorious Grace of Jesus Christ!  The Perfect standard was given to demonstrate that we could not, ever…ever…EVER meet its requirement.  I came to know Sin when after forty-five years of ‘doing church’ I finally relented and threw my hands up and said HELP! (and that, by the grace of God).  I knew my sins and my sins were plenty; they were familiar, constant, progressive, usually acceptable or at least hidden well enough — but clearly, unbelief… darkness…death reigned in me.

Romans 3:19-20  ‘Now we know that whatever the law says it speaks to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be stopped, and the whole world may be held accountable to God.  For by works of the law no human being will be justified in his sight, since through the law comes knowledge of sin.

Odd, that I didn’t understand what now seems inescapable.  All my work, all my efforts, all my understanding, all my wisdom, all my memory verses, all my church involvement, all my church relationships, all my christian friends, all my emotional experiences, all my bible knowledge, all my thoughtful and insightful counsel, all of it…All MY ‘righteousness’…was unclean; likened to a polluted menstruous cloth.  That’s where God brought me.  This is what God revealed to me.  He did it somehow by giving me a glimpse of Himself.  His Holiness revealed – like nothing ever had or would or could – Sin.  My Sin… ugly, distasteful, deadly, dark, hopeless, evil, devilish, demonic, fleshly… my birthright.

It is not ‘fun’ to arrive here, nor is it appealing to look at Sin…my Sin…my sins, or yours for that matter.  But, in mercy, God let’s us know Truth and He let’s us know what is true about every one of us. 

Romans 5:12  Therefore, just as sin came into the world through one man, and death through sin, and so death spread to all men because all sinned—  (Romans 5)

Psalms 51:5  Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me.  (Psalm 51)

Are you ready for a new birthright? a new life?  ‘For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” ‘ Romans 10:13  (Romans 10)

This entry was posted in church, directed from the Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

