no longer AWOL

for this soul…vacation is over.  Monday is a call to duty.  BUT…what do I think about the past two weeks of ‘vacation’?  hmmm.

Americans don’t vacation.  If you tell me otherwise, I’ll fight you up and down the line.  How many of you spent more time planning vacation than taking it?  How many spent more money on vacation than you make during your time away from work?  How many of you ‘worked’ hard at planning your 1 or 2 weeks of relaxation?  We work hard at play.  [To our chagrin, we simply fight the impulse to relax…to be quiet…to listen… to think.]  What?  who said that?

I give thanks to God for this two weeks of vacation I was given with my family.  God was at work.  I give thanks with sorrow and rejoicing that He chose this time to take my friend’s 16 month old boy, Brady Isaiah, home.  I give thanks and I pray with great hope and pain, that He sustain my dear brother Lucas and his wife Kate.  Why!?  Can any of us ask anything more appropriately? 

Some of you…may have been down this road…some of you may have already learned to trust in our God through such circumstances.  Will you pray for those of us who haven’t?  I feel inept.  All I have been able to do is ‘text’ my brother in my absence.  How do I stand by…love…encourage my brother in this?  His boy is gone.

What do I think?  what do I offer?  Ezekiel gives me solid footing today..Ez 37:3 – ‘And he said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”  And I answered, “O Lord GOD, you know.”

thank you, dear Father, you know all…before…during and after…forever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to no longer AWOL

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    Hey Tim,
    I have not been there either. I understand your position though. Sometimes just being there is enough. I don’t think any words will help, but a body there to lean on will. If you feel you need to say something, talk about the Gospel. That is what life (and death) is all about anyway. I will be praying for you and your family!

Leave a Reply

