faithful obedience by way of the Cross

More and more, I’m finding I have less and less to say that ventures very far from the straightforward simple truth of the Gospel. 

It is most often, if not always, the saving work of grace that God is completing in me that reveals to me the ‘illustrated’ or ‘manifested’ spiritual reality of what Jesus Christ accomplished on the cross.  I do not intend to be man-centered in these observations.  No, the Cross is not interpreted by my experience and the Gospel is not about me, rather I am simply and sometimes painfully and thankfully recognizing the work of God’s sovereign grace in making me a recipient of the Gospel, a beneficiary of the Cross… a participant in the glory that is the LORD.

What I see now, what I hear, know, enjoy…is owing to the righteous obedience of Jesus Christ.

What I have been pardoned of…an unpayable debt…is owing to the perfect obedience of a loving Son to his Holy Father.

What I have been set free from…is owing to the merciful compassion and suffering of the Lamb of God.

What I have inherited – beyond measure…is owing to the generous benevolence of a Creator King who loves me for the sake of His own glory.

For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.  When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.   Colossians 3:3-4

Jesus Christ, who is my life, trusted and obeyed His father.  Jesus Christ, who is my life, gave himself up for me.  Jesus Christ, who is my life, prays for me, that I would/will be sanctified in the truth, Your word is truth.  Jesus Christ, who is my life, leads me to trust and obey.

This entry was posted in directed from the Word. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to faithful obedience by way of the Cross

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    The Gospel. I love it. We are but filthy rags, redeemed by the blood of Jesus! What more is there to talk about! Amen bro!

Leave a Reply

