JEOPARDY…the answer is “James 5:16”

the question…  “How do I resist the enemy who would surreptitiously quell my desire for a high…pure…right view of God without blackening the eye of his agent?

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed.  The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.     James 5:16   

Some days my arrogance gets mightily in my way and I forget, even for a moment, who God is and who I am.  Apart from God, what can I expect from myself?  Nothing good.  Apart from God, what can I expect from another?  Nothing good.  So why is my expectation of another higher than my expectation of myself?

If I see sin…blindness…deafness in another, I want to respond the way I do when I, by God’s mercy, see it in myself.  I want to fall on my face in prayer seeking repentance, forgiveness and sustaining grace to press on to know God as He is and to know Him now…not later and not in the past…but presently.

I desire to be resolved…

Resolved, To act, in all respects, both speaking and doing, as if nobody had been so vile as I, and as if I had committed the same sins, or had the same infirmities or failings, as others, and that I will let the knowledge of their failings promote nothing but shame in myself, and prove only an occasion of my confessing my own sins and misery to God.     Jonathan Edwards 

(btw, the words surreptitiously quell are only there to help you ‘read and ask’ the question for yourself…sort of like the big orange sign on the road saying ‘SLOW DOWN’…I really don’t talk like that. )

This entry was posted in church, raves, rants & ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

