What do you mean…ho-hum? Rejoice!!

Has something dulled your ‘rejoicer’? Has something stolen away your joy in the Gospel?  Is God not still on the throne?!

Then REJOICE!  That’s right – the apostle Paul, who we all know had it sooo easy, instructs us to obey and worship God as he writes… “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.”  (Philippians 4:4)

Have we forgotten what our God has done?!  Has He saved you from Hell? …set you free from bondage to sin? …given you Life!…opened your eyes to His glory…given you the keys of his glorious kingdom?!  Then REJOICE!  Has He called you out of eternal darkness into His marvelous light?  Then take the long view that let’s you see beyond the pain, suffering, obstacles, struggles, trials of all kinds in this life to the ‘prize’, to the upward call of God…  “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.  Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you.  Only let us hold true to what we have attained.”  (Phil 3:12-16)

I know…there’s that part we still have to deal with that tries to steal away our joy…robs us of the faith by which we’ve been saved…our fleshly sight…our earthly understanding.  BUT, we don’t rejoice in the flesh.  We rejoice in faith in what Jesus Christ has done, is doing and will do.  AND, He is at hand, don’t be anxious… “The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  (Phil 4:5-7)

When was the last time you yawned and stretched… ‘ho-hum’ … when someone testified of God’s goodness?  Let that be the last time.  Don’t let your flesh say “yeah, yeah, I know ‘god is good’ “  NO! – when you hear Gospel truth, join in by faith and REJOICE!  This is a dry and weary land…there is no water here – there is only refreshing and strength in the fountain of living water, so rejoice…drink of the water that will never cease to refresh you.

O gracious LORD, thank you for letting me drink deeply this past weekend and for giving me eyes to see your kingdom coming… this is why I rejoice!  God is good.  God is faithful.  My sovereign gracious God reigns!  Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

