Let there be Light!

I suppose random thinkers wouldn’t marvel at this, but I am more linear, more concrete (thus…engineer 😉 in my thinking and approach to things and so I marvel (which looks like me scratchin my head) in the way I am lead in scripture sometimes. 

This morning on my way to Psalms 119, I found Ezekiel 18 open before me and the capturing verse was “the soul who sins shall die” (Ez 18:4)  I stopped and began to read the chapter which speaks of God’s justice, the penalty of sin, righteousness and consequences.  It rang clear in my thoughts as I have been considering the qualifications for overseers in 1 Timothy 3, specifically verses 4-5 which say, “He must manage his own household well, with all dignity keeping his children submissive, for if someone does not know how to manage his own household, how will he care for God’s church?” 

How does a husband/dad manage his household well?  No doubt by God’s grace alone; and in that there is the fundamental of teaching…instruction, by example and word.  (stay with me, the train is still running)  Jump to Ephesians 5, where Paul is giving the church AND the elders instruction/teaching (v17) so that they might not be foolish and lacking understanding but that by ‘understanding what the will of the Lord is’ they might worship and give thanks and serve together in love through humility out of reverence for Christ.  But this is predicated upon Light! 

“Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” 

Light…Pure Light…Light with no shadows…Gospel Light (not gospel lite) is good, right and true.  Gospel Light makes anything hidden become visible.  Verse 13-14, ‘but when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, for anything that becomes visible is light.’

How does a man, an overseer, a husband, a father, a brother…walk in love (Eph 5:2)?  He walks in light.  He walks as a man risen from the dead, no longer hidden in darkness but exposed…alive…awake…with the light of Christ shining on, in and through him.  We have no light until Christ shines on us. 

Psalm 119…(I made it here..finally 😉  verse 105, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path”.  Jesus Christ, the Living Word…the Light of Life, is the glorious source of all light, life and righteousness.  He lights the Way and we must be awakened by this Light.  Man-made light will not accomplish it.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was in the beginning with God.  All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made.  In him was life, and the life was the light of men.  The light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not overcome it.”  (John 1:1-5).

AMEN!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

