Restored Relationship through Truth

I am reading A W Tozer’s ‘The Pursuit of God’ and in chapter 8 entitled ‘Restoring the Creator-Creature Relation’ he makes the comment…

‘Much of our diffulty as seeking Christians stems from our unwillingness to take God as He is and adjust our lives accordingly.  We insist upon trying to modify Him and to bring Him nearer to our own image.’

This reminds me of a quote that was shared several months back that I borrowed from a friends blog because it rang loud and true in my ear.

“Everyone wants God to take them just as they are; but no one wants to take God just as He is. Modern evangelicals, in particular, commit blasphemy against God and stumble headlong into idolatry by spending more time examining their personal experiences — trying to make sure God belongs to them — and less time examining the Scriptures to make sure they belong to Him.”  – Alex Burroughs 

https://timwitten.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/borrowed-blogjust-as-he-is/

I wonder if he was reading the same chapter when he responded with his comment.  For me it continues to demonstrate the grip that sin tries to regain on my mind and how I am striving to daily submit to the lordship of my LORD so that by the Spirit I am strengthened and enabled to put to death the deeds of the body and in that daily battle I LIVE by faith in the abiding reality of Christ and by His grace am ‘being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.’

Continuing in Hope!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

