Faithful joy…afflicting situations

I have never been in Job’s shoes (not even close), yet I am glad to learn from him and what he suffered and how he responded.  Job 13:14-16 says, Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?  Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.  He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.  

Faith praises God in sad conditions. … Faith can praise God because it sees mercy even in the greatest affliction. … Will we let a few present troubles become a grave to bury the memory of all His past mercies?  What God takes from us is less than we owe Him, but what He leaves us is more than He owes (us).  William Gurnall

I have been encouraged greatly today in God’s word as I am trained in righteousness.  I also found encouragement in Cavman’s blog…Considering Faith and Grace… as he highlights some quotes from Puritan William Gurnall and expresses some of his own as well.

Blessings!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faithful joy…afflicting situations

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    I just love that verse! “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him” such faith, such endurance. The endurance of Job is such an encouragement. It sees that sometimes in life it really does not take too much to nock me off course. I praise God for the faithfulness of Job, for the example we have in God’s word!

  2. TimWitten says:

    yeah…I’m with you on this brother. It has been very sweet to see the impact of a devo that Pastor Ed shared with our youth bearing fruit. My son, Luke, has taken to answering the ever frequent non-sincere question ‘how are you doing?’ with the response…’better than I deserve.’
    Recently that got some unusual attention…maybe I’ll include the details in a future blog. But, regarding Job…those words have stuck! ‘Though HE slay me (with every right and any means) yet (by HIS powerful grace at work within me) will I trust HIM!. Amen!

Leave a Reply

