Am I Ready for Persecution?

This blog entry is given in hope – Hope in Jesus Christ alone.
To them God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.  Colossians 1:27
In regard to the (previous) blog I linked to and chose to share with you, I just wanted to say that my heart breaks as I further consider what is on display here for us to see.  I don’t know if you’ve had the opportunity to go, ultimately to this blog site ‘A Virtuous Woman’ and see the hundreds of comments expressing confusion, hatred, fear, antagonism, etc… 
 
The sheer number of responses/comments that this woman’s blog has received is beyond anything I’ve come across before.  The hatred of what she has said and what she believes is palpable.  She has basically confessed what God through the apostle Paul says in his letter to the Romans(1:28-32, 3:10-18, …)  (and throughout the OT and NT)  Man is sinful, lost, evil – there is no fear of God before his eyes.  And in so making this life-saving truth understood by her daughter, without malice, she has faithfully prepared her daughter’s heart/mind to ‘hear’ the gospel of the Cross.
AND, she is HATED because of it.
 
You need only to scan through the comments after the first 20 or 30….absolute hatred, confusion, fear…but for the few (and increasing number of) redeemed who comment.  How could any mother teach her 4 yr old child they are so sinful/evil?  Do we believe this is true?  Do we plow the ground (of our children’s hearts, the church congregation, those within our circle of influence) with the truth of our desparate situation, such that the Holy Spirit can take His word sown in the soil and bring forth a harvest?
 
Somewhere down the list of comments, this mother enters another blog entry and shares again…having aborted her first child, yet now saved by grace and raising her subsequent children to know who they are and who God is…the comments continue with a barrage of hatred and accusation.  This outcry against the basic bible doctrine of man’s utter sinfulness/death seems barely affected by this woman’s confession that she indeed ‘killed’ her first child…why no outcry here?!  The self-esteem of man is enthroned and the murder of the unborn is left unquestioned in light of the precious ‘right of a mother’ to kill her own child in the name of “Pro-Choice”.  
 
Brothers/Elders/Pastors – Are we ready to face persecution for the Faith?  our Faith?  I am wrestling with this question…am I ready?  Will I stand as rocks are thrown and bruise my face and head and break my bones and tear my flesh…will I stand and confess Jesus Christ as LORD to the glory of God the Father?!  Will I endure the accusations of friends, family, wife, child?  Do I know the wonder-working power of the Holy Spirit – Christ in me the Hope of glory- such that I will stand faithful under the smallest and the greatest of persecutions? 
We may not read the same things or listen to the same teachers, pastors, prophets…but we all have the Word of God
Do we know who God is? 
Do we know what His word says?  
Do we stand on His promise?
Do we count all but loss for the sake of His name? 
Are we doing this now? 
 
If not, we will not fight.  If not, we are not His sheep/soldiers/children/elect.
 
I don’t think we need to ask any longer why America has not seen persecution.  I believe it lies waiting at the threshold of those who will come out of their houses and testify to the Light of Life.  We may not make it past our threshold; and if we do, not many will be walking with us.
 
I intend no drama when I say this, rather a clarion call, but I hear the gnashing of teeth toward any who will stand for Christ and this perhaps is why I am struggling most in my office of overseer (but also, first, in my walk before God as a sinful, weak and needy man).
I trust Jesus Christ – His testimony is faultless.
I trust the One who died for me – He accomplished it ALL; my salvation by His grace is secure.
He alone is Faithful.
 
I desire to know ‘who’ is on my left and my right? …for what fellowship has Light with darkness.  I ask the questions I ask because I both want to exhort you in your faith… AND I want to know who is my friend…who will stand because the Holy Spirit in them will NOT bow to the enemy.
 
Do not be bound together with unbelievers; for what partnership have righteousness and lawlessness, or what fellowship has light with darkness? 2 Cor 6:14
 
Whether it be today or tomorrow…our faith will be tested.  Will I stand?  Will you?
 
boldly with humility,
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

