“Good child psychology requires solid child theology”

I was reminded this morning on the drive to work about the sweet old children’s hymns and songs filled with the gospel…steeped in sound doctrine…simply stated. 

Alistair Begg seems to routinely reflect on gospel truth communicated via really good hymns, many from years…decades past.  This first one he brought back to my mind and the others just started flooding in, so I’ve added some lyrics.  If they stir up your childhood doctrinal foundations…feel free to stir up mine by sharing some of yours. 

 

Wide, wide as the ocean, high as the Heaven above;
Deep, deep as the deepest sea is my Savior’s love.
I, though so unworthy, still am a child of His care;
For His Word teaches me that His love reaches me everywhere.

 

Joshua 1:8 comes to mind with this next one

 

The B – I – B – L – E … yes, that’s the book for me!
I stand upon the Word of God … the B – I – B – L – E!

 

Ever in His care…provided for in His abundant grace…

 

He owns the cattle on a thousand hills,
The wealth in every mine;
He owns the rivers and the rocks and rills,
The sun and stars that shine.
Wonderful riches, more than tongue can tell –
He is my Father so they’re mine as well;
He owns the cattle on a thousand hills –
I know that He will care for me.

 

I remember my dad singing this chorus many times driving in his truck years ago…

 

Some thank the Lord for friends and home,
For mercies sure and sweet;
But I would praise Him for His grace
In prayer I would repeat:

Chorus
Thank you, Lord, for saving my soul,
Thank you, Lord, for making me whole;
Thank you, Lord, for giving to me
Thy great salvation so rich and free.

Some thank Him for the flow’rs that grow,
Some for the stars that shine;
My heart is filled with joy and praise,
Because I know He’s mine.

 Chorus
I trust in Him from day to day,
I prove His saving grace;
I’ll sing this song of praise to Him
Until I see His face. 

Chorus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

