Jesus Christ…Savior of the world

Be blessed and know that Jesus Christ revealed himself to the unborn child in Elizabeth’s womb, John the Baptist, who leapt for joy in the presence of the Lord, yet unborn.  He revealed himself to young Samuel in the temple as he lie sleeping.   He revealed himself to an angry zealous Jew on the road to Damascus and changed Saul’s life forever.  He revealed himself to a young Timothy of Lystra.  He revealed himself to the criminal on the cross even as He was bearing the wrath of God, the punishment of all our sin as he hung, dying on the Cross at Calvary.  He revealed himself to me, perhaps He has revealed himself to you?  Is it any wonder that He would reveal himself to a four year old sinner in need of His mercy and grace?

I rejoice in the wonder of God and His ways.  I have been blessed by Jean, my sister in Christ living across the water from me, in my wife’s homeland.  She shares openly and to the glory of God.  Here is a blog post from a few weeks ago. 

Thursday, 4 December 2008

Mummy, what must I do to be saved?

I have been strongly advised and warned not to write any more on my blog, as it could have consequences. I did listen to that for a while, but it is eating me up not to testify about the goodness of God. God has not given me a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind, and above all he is sovereign and in total control of the whole situation, so I have to put my fears aside, and I will testify about his goodness and glory.

Recently my little girl came to me and asked me where God was. I told her that he is in heaven, but he can see all things and knows all things that happen here on earth. She then asked me if Jesus lived in everyone’s heart. I told her that he didn’t and I did say to her that there are people out there who actually hated Jesus, that not everyone loved Jesus. She seemed to understand this, I wonder if she has noticed it herself. Then she asked me a question I was not expecting, ‘Mummy does Jesus live in my heart?’ This question took me by surprise and I all I could think was I had to be honest with her, I do not believe my daughter is saved yet, so I told her gently that Jesus did not live in her heart. She looked at me heartbroken, her face fell and tears filled in her eyes, “But mummy I want Jesus”, she said, “I want him to come and live in my heart, what do I do mummy”.

I looked at my baby girl so overwhelmed, and I don’t know looking back I should have gave her a better answer, but she is so young I do not want to confuse her, yet she has reached a great spiritual understanding that is beyond her age. I told her that if she prayed and asked Jesus to help her, he would. I told her that she could talk to Jesus and ask him to help her. I looked at her and told her that Jesus loved her very much, that he had died on the cross for her. I told her that her Mummy does things that are wrong too, and Jesus had helped me, and I explained to her that Jesus could help her too. I told her that I read my bible everyday and I pray, I told her that prayer was the way we talk to Jesus.

I could see the longing my little girl has to have a right relationship with God. She knows something is wrong, she is broken because of sin, and she is desperate for the love and comfort of Jesus. No amount of cuddles and kisses I give my baby girl would ever cure her heart. My love for her is a tiny drop compared to the love she is seeking and longing for. She wants to be forgiven, and she wants to have Jesus, and she wants that peace that can only come through Christ. This is a four year old I am talking about. It took me 23 years to get to the point she is today. I can not fully understand this, but I am seeing an all wonderful, all powerful, great God work so powerfully in the life of a babe through the Holy Spirit. My daughter is convicted of sin, and she wants to be redeemed. It’s shocking and overwhelming to me, I can not help but share this. To think my little four year old has asked me the most important question she will ever ask in her life, “What must I do to be saved?” is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen, to keep this to myself is something I just cant do, I can not hide the glory of God, that he has chosen to reveal himself to a child, and he has opened her eyes and has made her see that she is lost without him. I am praying that God will save her soul. I am praying that she will find the peace that she knows she doesn’t have. May God be glorified and may his name be honoured. He is a wonderful loving God.

Have you seen your desparate situation?  Do you know that you are a sinner in need of a savior…there is only One who can save and He is Jesus Christ, the Lamb slain before the foundations of the world…crucified under God’s wrath in your place…you can be covered by His righteous shed blood.  Will you call upon the name of the LORD and believing… be saved from death and the power of sin to new and eternal life in Jesus Christ?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

