Psalms, Psalm and more Psalms!

I am reflecting on several psalms of David today.  Worship this evening was framed within two of David’s psalms.  Psalm 145 which rejoices in the greatness of the Lord was the theme from which our voices together sang out various psalms, hymns and spiritual songs.  And then as we came to the Word of God, Psalm 86 was our meditation as we continue to look at this psalm with an eye to prayer.  ‘Be gracious to me, O Lord, for to you do I cry all the day.  Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.’  It continues to be a blessing to walk slowly through this psalm which rests in the greatness of God’s steadfast love and faithfulness.

And then this evening as I listened to a song that echoes responsively to the steadfast love and faithfulness of the Lord, I came to Psalm 13, and though like David I may question and wonder at times… ‘I will sing to the LORD because he has dealt bountifully with me.’

 How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
 How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

 Consider and answer me, O Lord my God;
light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
 lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

 But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
 I will sing to the Lord,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.

O Love that will not let me go…EVER! 

O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in thee;
I give thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

O light that followest all my way,
I yield my flickering torch to thee;
My heart restores its borrowed ray,
That in thy sunshine’s blaze its day
May brighter, fairer be.

O Joy that seekest me through pain,
I cannot close my heart to thee;
I trace the rainbow through the rain,
And feel the promise is not vain,
That morn shall tearless be.

O Cross that liftest up my head,
I dare not ask to fly from thee;
I lay in dust life’s glory dead,
And from the ground there blossoms red
Life that shall endless be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

