Inaugural Praise…Who is praising whom?

Yesterday came and went with the inauguration of President Obama.  I was mostly otherwise occupied and so did not participate in or view the ‘goings on’ throughout the day.  I saw the changing headlines here and there on the internet news sites…but did not have any desire and almost no more curiosity to watch firsthand.  That may not be a good response, but it was my response.

This morning, I was finishing a season of reading and meditating in the Psalms.  Psalm 150.  As I read and prayed my way through this wonderful psalm calling everything…everyone that has breath to praise the LORD, it seemed to provoke a question in my mind as I considered all the ‘hoopla’ that has been made over this new president, the world or more specifically this country is making a big ‘to do’ over a man…BUT, they turn and disregard the very God who gives them breath.  There is no praise on their lips for the Creator, Sustainer, the Alpha and Omega.

I also wonder (if I knew Hebrew or did some study) if the intent of the first word in verse 6 of Psalm 150, “Let”, is not a request but an imperative.  For we all shall someday bow… and confess,

22 “Turn to me and be saved,
all the ends of the earth!
For I am God, and there is no other.
23 By myself I have sworn;
from my mouth has gone out in righteousness
a word that shall not return:
‘To me every knee shall bow,
every tongue shall swear allegiance.’ (Is 45:22-23)
 

Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, 10 so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Phil 2:9-11) 

For we will all stand before the judgment seat of God; 11 for it is written,

“As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to me,
and every tongue shall confess  to God.”

12 So then each of us will give an account of himself to God. (Rom 14:10b-12)

Psalm 150

1 Praise the Lord!
Praise God in his sanctuary;
praise him in his mighty heavens!
Praise him for his mighty deeds;
praise him according to his excellent greatness!

Praise him with trumpet sound;
praise him with lute and harp!
Praise him with tambourine and dance;
praise him with strings and pipe!
Praise him with sounding cymbals;
praise him with loud clashing cymbals!
Let everything that has breath praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord!

 Dear Lord, may my every breath praise You through word and prayer before all peoples today.  May they know the God I adore by the words of my mouth.  Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

