Looking to Jesus

‘…looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith,’   Heb 12:2    [note..don’t rush past this unfathomable reality of who Jesus is and what He has done.]

‘…and they came to Jesus and found the man from whom the demons had gone, sitting at the feet of Jesus, clothed and in his right mind,  Luke 8:35

“For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.  1 Cor 2:16

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.  And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.  Col 3:16-17

How can I walk by faith if I don’t look to Jesus…if I don’t sit at his feet…if I don’t have the mind of Christ…if the word of Christ does not richly dwell in me?

Sitting at the feet of Jesus
Oh, what words I hear Him say
Happy place, so near, so precious
May it find me there each day
Sitting at the feet of Jesus
I would look upon the past
For His love has been so gracious
It has won my heart at last

Sitting at the feet of Jesus
Where can mortals be more blest
There I lay my sins and sorrows
And, when weary, find sweet rest
Sitting at the feet of Jesus
There I love to weep and pray
While I from His fullness gather
Grace and comfort every day

Bless me, O my Savior, bless me
As I sit low at Thy feet
Oh, look down in love upon me
Let me see Thy face so sweet
Give me, Lord, the mind of Jesus
Make me holy as He is
May I prove I’ve been with Jesus
Who is all my righteousness

He is all my righteousness
He is all my righteousness

By God’s grace and mercy, may it be…

May the mind of Christ, my Savior,
Live in me from day to day,
By His love and power controlling
All I do and say.

May the Word of God dwell richly
In my heart from hour to hour,
So that all may see I triumph
Only through His power.

May the peace of God my Father
Rule my life in everything,
That I may be calm to comfort
Sick and sorrowing.

May the love of Jesus fill me
As the waters fill the sea;
Him exalting, self abasing,
This is victory.

May I run the race before me,
Strong and brave to face the foe,
Looking only unto Jesus
As I onward go.

May His beauty rest upon me,
As I seek the lost to win,
And may they forget the channel,
Seeing only Him.

I’ve sung this song, “May the Mind of Christ, My Savior”, before…but I hadn’t seen or heard it in quite some time.  I saw the words to the song posted on a friend’s bulletin board.  The words came to mind as I sat in quiet worship.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking to Jesus

  1. Pingback: ..Stirred up by way of reminder « The Tells of Tim

Leave a Reply

