Looking for Truth?

I just caught the following post as I ate my lunch today.  There seems to be a lot of questions getting stirred up in my circles about what I would simply call the ‘sufficiency of God’s word’  to speak to our lives today.  Nobody is saying that God’s word isn’t truth..just that its not the only place to go to find truth.

For the past three years, since God saved me, it has been His word that has been the source of all truth that He, by the Holy Spirit, has been speaking to me and it has indeed been profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.  It is God’s word alone that I know I can stand on with full assurance.  It is indeed God’s word that sanctifies…”sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth”.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009  (http://4pecks.blogspot.com/)

Philosophy

I have been doing some studying recently that involves philosophy. Philosophy is defined as: The rational investigation of the truths and principles of being, knowledge, or conduct. At first I was intrigued by the study. I felt intellectual because I was learning about philosophy. This is what smart people talk about! I was thinking to myself about how useful this knowledge could be to win others to Christ! As I continued to turn this information over in my mind during the past couple of weeks I started to notice that philosophy does not seem to rely very heavily (or at all) on scripture. It is after all a “rational investigation of truth“. Gods word is foolishness to the world so there is no need to include the Bible in philosophical discussions. John Piper once said that “science without God is heresy”. I would say that philosophy without God is the same. Truth. What is truth? Truth, is the word of God. The Bible, Gods word is truth (tough for some to grasp in this wonderful post-modern world of ours!). You can talk philosophy with me all you want, you may even have some very persuasive arguments, but I will not sway (by Gods grace) from the truth found only in Gods eternal word. The word of God does not change (Mal 3:6). What was true about God when it was written is still true today and will still be true 1000 years from now and forever! Furthermore, the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ is what saves people not philosophy, or even apologetics for that matter! The Gospel is the power of God for salvation (Rom 1:16). If truth is what you are looking for then look to Bible, not just a section or a verse but the whole thing. It is so easy to look to the world for wisdom. It is often done by Christians and they don’t even realize it! God is the founder of truth, wisdom, and knowledge, seek Him.

Matt 6:33
But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Thanks Rob for the encouragement!    …’where should I go but to the Lord?’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

