Looking for Truth? (addendum)

I would be overstating myself if I give you the impression that the only book I read is the Bible.  It isn’t; nor would I recommend that anyone only ever read the Bible and not enjoy the blessing of thoughts and teaching from other faithful brothers (or sisters as the case may be) who have studied the scriptures and walked with God and can share from what the Holy Spirit has revealed to them and taught them from the scriptures in conjunction with the events of their lives…their walking by faith.

A friend recently suggested that what he understood me to be stating about where we go to find truth was an extreme position.  I’ve been honestly looking at what I believe in this regard, especially according to what has been revealed to me thus far.

My first question is… what is extreme?  extreme relative to what? 

My center is God’s Word – the Living Word.  Anything/everything must be subject to what God provided to me as His revelation- breathed out by God for my profit. (2 Tim 3:15-17)  If my center is always God’s Word, then isn’t that also where I should always start?  If I have a question, a need, a ‘Wow’ (praise), a trial, a hurt, ..whatever it is… do I change my starting point based on the situation?  I can’t find any reason or support to do so.  [I am open to honest comment on this if you would bring it with support from God’s word.]

What is waiting on the Lord all about?  Let’s say I have a problem and I start with God’s word and prayer.  No answer seems to come.  Do I start looking for answers elsewhere?  Do I start ‘getting counsel’ because I’m not hearing God speak or I’m not seeing Him act?  Perhaps the situation is beyond my ability.  Is that a good reason to proceed with seeking man’s counsel (including man’s biblical counsel)?  Is that considered simple wisdom…an assumed right choice?  Is getting counsel from man (which is supported in the scriptures) “always” also a right response when I need an answer to something?

If God desires that I look to His hand for direction, is that for the hard situations?  some situations? all situations?

Psalm 123:1-2…To you I lift up my eyes,
O you who are enthroned in the heavens!
Behold, as the eyes of servants
look to the hand of their master,
as the eyes of a maidservant
to the hand of her mistress,
so our eyes look to the Lord our God,
till he has mercy upon us.

What does waiting on the LORD mean?

As I consider these things, I am not looking for a formula or a flowchart but I am wanting to know with solid rock under my feet how I can trust my God’s direction in all circumstances and not find myself running ahead or outside of His counsel.

…still working through this one.

Isaiah 64:4
From of old no one has heard or perceived by the ear, no eye has seen a God besides you, who acts for those who wait for him.

Psalm 62:5
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.

Psalm 130:5
I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope;

see also ‘Soul, You Wait’ borrowed post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

