Who is really teaching our children?

These two brief video clips were enough to stir my heart recently and I’ve been thinking through its various implications in regard to ‘who’ is teaching my children.

If I… if you… want to know what our kids are learning at school or church or their friend’s homes or in your own home… just look and listen.  They may not answer your question ‘what did you learn today’ beyond a grunt or a “nothin” or a brief comment about a science lesson (though we need to raise the bar on their responsiveness or our level of interest, if this is the case), but be assured they are sponges and they are learning all the time.

I am too often too casual about the incoming influences that are ‘teaching’ my children.  Just the sheer amount of time that they are under the influence of the world as opposed to the amount of time they are in the home and under our influence is heavily weighted against us.

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.  You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.   And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.  You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. (Deut. 6:4-9)

As dad… I carry the primary responsibility for the teaching of my children.  As dad, carrying that primary responsibility, I am instructed in God’s word  to be diligent(2 Peter 1:10), disciplined(1 Timothy 4:7) and devoted(Acts 2:42) to Jesus Christ…FIRST!  I am useless, even deadly to my children if I teach them by example that God… Jesus Christ… the Word of God don’t really matter much at all.  If I don’t love God and if I don’t obey His word and if I don’t treasure Him above all else…why should/would they?

Who are the teachers in your life?  Who are the teachers in your children’s lives?

1 Peter 5:8, Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.

John 10:10, The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

There is an enemy of God who not only has no hesitation in harming our children, but seeks to destroy them… and us!  So be watchful over who is teaching you… and who is teaching your children.

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,  that the man of God  may be competent, equipped for every good work.  2 Timothy 3:16-17

How can a young man keep his way pure?  By guarding it according to your word.  With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments!  I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.  Psalm 119:9-11

Blessings,

This entry was posted in family, raves, rants & ruminations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who is really teaching our children?

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    Thanks for this Brother. Indeed I am convicted! Very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

