Conviction of sin is about Freedom

The following borrowed thoughts captured my own as I realize how often I connect confession of sin with fault-finding and condemnation rather than freedom and cleansing.

 

Psalm 32:5  I acknowledged my sin to you,
and I did not cover my iniquity;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,”
and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah

…”Perhaps you’re like I was at one time. You don’t want to take responsibility for your sins because you don’t think they’re your fault. You may wonder, ‘How else would I have responded after my reference point was so distorted?’  But you see, I don’t think confessing sin is primarily about fault. It’s about freedom!”

 

Wow!! I just stopped and re-read that again and again: “…I don’t think confessing sin is primarily about fault. It’s about freedom!”

If it’s true that Jesus has already made the sacrifice for our sins, and that sacrifice was accepted by the Father, then our response to conviction of sin is not about fault, it’s about freedom! Sin puts a wedge between God and me, so I want it out of there! God stands ready to forgive, Jesus is my advocate, so confess it, accept His forgiveness and cleansing and MOVE ON in VICTORY!!

Too much time is spent trying to ignore conviction or beating our breast over our sin – both actions delighting Satan. The first is a dangerous road, leading to hardened hearts and idolatry, and the second denies the work of our Savior.

Now here is truth that I need to preach to myself! “…not about fault, but freedom.” Amazing how much of the delay (in facing and confessing) in being set free to move on is tied up in the punitive condemnation we may have picked up early on. I believe grieving over sin is good, and learning to hate sin is good, and that is joined with confession, repentance and freedom… not with fear, self-loathing and hiding in the darkness.

Thanks for stirring up my thoughts on this!  Blessings. 

And in keeping with healthy grieving over sin and hating sin is an action in our minds and hearts that will ‘mortify the flesh’… ‘kill sin’…. MAKE WAR on those desires that call us into darkness rather than the marvelous light of Jesus Christ.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conviction of sin is about Freedom

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    Thank you Brother for posting this. I needed to remember this great truth this morning! It is indeed awesome to be forgiven!

Leave a Reply

