Established… by God

“I will establish my word with you” 
2 Cor 1:21,  And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us,

Col 2:6-7,  Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving. 

1 Kings 6:11-13, Now the word of the Lord came to Solomon, “Concerning this house that you are building, if you will walk in my statutes and obey my rules and keep all my commandments and walk in them, then I will establish my word with you, which I spoke to David your father.  And I will dwell among the children of Israel and will not forsake my people Israel.”

These verses have been on my heart the past two days as I’ve wondered about God and the if/then promises in His word.  I have much to learn and I also remember and stand on what He has taught me thus far.  It is the reality of His sovereignty that clarifies His commands.  And it is a joy to behold God in His word… it is, indeed, all of grace

The conditional covenants that God makes with his people are truly wonderful.  Yet how could a sovereign Creator God relinquish control to the creature?  He doesn’t; and for that we must be eternally grateful.  Our sovereign God is NEVER ‘not sovereign’.  No matter how we might choose to define His sovereignty, no matter how we will, in our own hearts, deface the sovereign grace of God… He remains forever Sovereign. 

How is it with you?  How did  you get God to respond to you?  What level of obediance did you achieve (walking in his statutes, obeying his rules, keeping all his commandments and walking in them) for God to take notice and responsively establish his word with you? 

Is it not God who has ordained, in His sovereignty, to dwell among the children of Israel and to not forsake his people Israel?  Is it not God who has called you, put a new heart in you, made you alive in Christ, established you in the faith, empowered you to walk…obey…keep…walk?  Are you not doing this as He establishes you in His word? 

John 17:14-19, “I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.  I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one.  They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.  Sanctify them  in the truth; your word is truth.  As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world.  And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.” 

Rejoice in the Sovereign God… rejoice in his Sovereign Grace… rejoice, again I say REJOICE!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

