In fear beholding the Forgiver, I wait. Ps 130

Tomorrow morning I will enjoy fellowship with a group of men as we meet weekly in our reading/study of Sinclair Ferguson’s book, The Christian Life – A Doctrinal Introduction.  We’ll be going over the chapter entitled ‘Faith in Christ’.

One statement he makes is that “Repentence can only be truly evangelical when it is based on faith in God and in his word.”  He points to the psalmist’s words in Psalm 130:4, ‘But with you there is forgiveness, that you may be feared.’  Ferguson writes, it was because he saw and trusted the forgiving grace of God that he feared him in his repentance.

As I read through this psalm, I quickly found it leading… preempting… encouraging the voice of my pleas for mercy.  “If you, O LORD, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand?  That question and moreso the understanding and reality behind that question should always and forever silence my complaints and my protests.  And then so quickly he follows with the Good News, “But with you there is forgiveness, that you may be feared.”

Deep sorrow, persistent adversity, or a turn in the road we neither want nor understand may have brought us to our knees in the King’s presence… but praise God, we are there.  We are on our knees, casting our anxieties on the One, the only One, who has all power and authority to work all things to His glory and our good.  How many times have I grown restless and impatient in this place and gotten up and gone elsewhere seeking resolution… answers… peace?  Foolishness, I know; but I’ve done it repeatedly.  Again the word of the Lord leads and counsels me, “I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning.”  Wait.  Wait… wait for the LORD.

Why wait?  I can do something… I can fix this… I… I… I.  “O Israel,  (O Tim,  O ____? )  hope in the LORD!  For with the LORD there is steadfast love, and with him is plentiful redemption.  And he will redeem Israel from all his iniquities.” 

My soul waits for the LORD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

