Perfect Righteousness… by the Blood of Jesus

I started this morning listening to God speak in 1 Kings 19 and 20, and I am still coming to terms with the reality that God’s ways are not my ways.  I don’t mean that this is a new idea or the first time I’ve heard this Word, but this morning it is new again… it challenges me and by faith I am believing.  See, I look at what is before me and around me and I see as you do…with eyes, natural eyes that see the temporal and not the eternal.  But it is by faith and the sight-giving power of the Cross that I am reminded of something much bigger than the temporary works that I place so much importance on.

By no mistake or pursuit of my own, I heard my Savior remind me of this foundation upon which my hope rests…

This is perfect righteousness

“This is perfect righteousness, to hear nothing, to know nothing, to do nothing of the law of works; but only to know and believe that Jesus Christ is now gone to the Father, and sitteth at his right hand, not as a judge, but is made unto you of God, wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption.”

Edward Fisher, The Marrow of Modern Divinity (Ross-shire, UK: Christian Focus, 2009), 132

I immediately thought of the wonderful hymn, Nothing But the Blood of Jesus and from  there worshipped my Precious Savior and King as I remember that His Perfect Righteousness, not any work in any form of my own, is the security and standing I have before God my Father.

The bloody reality of the Cross is always a confrontation to me.  I am responsible for the murder of the Son of God.  My sin.  Have mercy O God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

