Play it safe?

I’m getting to know a little bit about this pastor, Francis Chan.Β  As I was going through some things today, I caught this short video segment that gave me more of his story and also more of his heart as he communicates via this ‘balance beam’ illustration.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Play it safe?

  1. cjbooth85 says:

    wow, that takes my breath away.

  2. cjbooth85 says:

    I’m 3/4 of the way through “Forgotten God.” Life changing. I heartily recommend it. I plan on starting it again as soon as I finish! Buy it for yourself, then gift-wrap it, open it Christmas morning and ask, “Oh, how did you know I wanted this?” 😎

  3. TimWitten says:

    Hi Chris, I noted on your blog that you were reading Forgotten God. While at the men’s retraeat at ABC, two friends highly recommended I read Crazy Love by Chan. I hadn’t heard of him before but I’ve been downloading and listening to groupings of his sermons and I’m finding him a blessing. I picked up both books the other day and gave FG to my wife (with a bunch of other books) to wrap up as my Christmas gifts (grin), so I’m tracking with you πŸ™‚
    Any ‘one’ big takeaway that you had from Crazy Love? Did you do any blogs on it?

  4. mike ruel says:

    he can’t be a pastor, he is wearing jeans and a T-shirt. πŸ˜‰

    great stuff, Tim. Thanks…I needed to have my hands pried off the beam.

  5. cjbooth85 says:

    Hey Tim

    Thanks so much for your encouragement and prayers. As you know, we’ve been through (and are in the middle of, really) a rough patch and your prayers mean so much.

    Forgotten God is good. Glad I read it; am planning on starting it again after Christmas (unless my wife has acted upon my casually dropped hints about certain other ‘interesting books’…). Forgotten God is loaded with juicy morsels like this from page 37:

    “It really is an astounding truth that the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead lives in you. He lives in me. I do not know what the Spirit will do or where He’ll lead me each time I invite Him to guide me. But I am tired of living in a way that looks exactly like the people who do not have the Holy Spirit of God living in them. I want to be different today from what I was yesterday as the fruit of the Spirit becomes more manifest in me.”

    And this from page 142:
    “I don’t want my life to be explainable without the Holy Spirit. I want people to look at my life and know that I couldn’t be doing this by my own power. I want to live in such a way that I am desperate for Him to come through. That if He doesn’t come through, I am screwed.”

    It’s not a technical book (for that, go to Tozer’s The Counsellor!) on the Holy Spirit, but more of a challenge to get over yourself and get on with laying yourself out before God and going with His program.

    I’ll probably try to fit in a post about it if I can get some time & energy……..I liked the book a lot and I’d recommend it warmly.

Leave a Reply

