Do I have a choice?

I’m reading a book titled ‘Crazy Love’

It was recommended to me this summer and I’ve been trying to get to it for months.  So I’m in the third chapter titled along with the name of the book ‘Crazy Love’ and here’s something for your consideration… or rather my preferred word… rumination.

subheading title… Do I Have a Choice? 

While I was speaking to some college students recently, an interesting twist on the contrast between our unresponsiveness and God’s great desire for us came up.  One student asked, “Why would a loving God force me to love Him?”

It seemed like a weird question.  When I asked the student to clarify what he meant, he responded that God “threatens me with hell and punishment if I don’t begin a relationship with Him.”

The easy retort to that statement is that God doesn’t force us to love Him; it’s our choice.  But there was a deeper issue going on, and I wasn’t sure how to answer it in the moment.

Now that I’ve had time to think about it, I would tell that student that if God is truly the greatest good on this earth, would He be loving us if He didn’t draw us toward what is best for us (even if that happens to be Himself)?  Doesn’t His courting, luring, pushing, calling, and even “threatening” demonstrate His love?  If He didn’t do all of that, wouldn’t we accuse Him of being unloving in the end, when all things are revealed?

So, I’m sitting here having read this and wondering… do I even have a clue as to what real ‘crazy love’ is?  Thank God, He has given us His word, The BIBLE, to speak to us about these wonderful things. 

Go… read…  the Bible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do I have a choice?

  1. This sounds like a cool book. Just today one of the teens in our church who has been working on his assurance before God simply texted me “Why does God love me?” I had to think for a minute and then realized I had no idea. I told him, “I really don’t know why. Why do parents love their children or an artist love his work? Hard to answer.” It doesn’t make sense that He loves us, but He demonstrates it continually.

  2. TimWitten says:

    I actually really like that question, why does God love me? I believe if we pursue it we finally come to a place of understanding rightly what grace and mercy are. No merit….none. Zilch.

    Just prior to the paragraph I blogged above, Chan brings the reader to a visual of how Isaiah is describing any righteousness of our own as ‘fithy rags’… it pretty much kills any response on our part to flaunt our good works.

    Paul’s instruction in Eph 1 and 2 really help me understand God, love, and grace in a Christ-centered manner and that question of ‘why’ usually marks the starting place on a path out of man-centered thinking to a precious understanding of the greatness of God and the wonder of His sovereign grace.

    And that is a journey that I’ve been enjoying for several years now…

Leave a Reply

