Praying for Joy

Lord God, teach me to always turn to you for my joy and salvation.  Guard me from finding solace in blissful ignorance.  Let me know joy and peace in the midst and in the face of difficulty.  Let my hope be in You alone.  I confess my independence, self-righteousness, self-effort, my pretense and my willingness to substitute true joy with all these other things.

For thus said the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel,
“In returning and rest you shall be saved;
in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.”  Is 30:15

Thank you for the Cross, thank you for your grace and mercy, thank you for faith to believe your Word, thank you for your Holy Spirit.

Psalm 62

1 For God alone my soul waits in silence;
from him comes my salvation.
2 He only is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

3 How long will all of you attack a man
to batter him,
like a leaning wall, a tottering fence?
4 They only plan to thrust him down from his high position.
They take pleasure in falsehood.
They bless with their mouths,
but inwardly they curse. Selah

5 For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence,
for my hope is from him.
6 He only is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
7 On God rests my salvation and my glory;
my mighty rock, my refuge is God.

8 Trust in him at all times, O people;
pour out your heart before him;
God is a refuge for us. Selah

9 Those of low estate are but a breath;
those of high estate are a delusion;
in the balances they go up;
they are together lighter than a breath.
10 Put no trust in extortion;
set no vain hopes on robbery;
if riches increase, set not your heart on them.

11 Once God has spoken;
twice have I heard this:
that power belongs to God,
12 and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love.
For you will render to a man
according to his work.

Amen.

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.”     Mt 13:44

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Praying for Joy

  1. cjbooth85 says:

    I have a sticky note quote from (who else) John Piper. He said: “Joy that evaporates in the heat of affliction is not joy in God but joy in circumstances.” I feel like I need to remind myself of this every day.

    Thanks for Psalm 62. This became a favorite for us after my daughter’s friend was killed in a car crash back in ’08. That verse was her ‘verse of the day’ on her facebook page and became the banner verse for her funeral. I’ve never been to such a joyous and victorious funeral. I’ve got her parents’ permission to blog about it, if I can ever muster the emotional energy.

    Joy is so worth pursuing. Thanks for the post Tim

  2. TimWitten says:

    Chris, I really appreciate your words here, and I’m glad to hear JP’s words too ;]

    btw, I sat on your blog yesterday wanting to have words to encourage you and Janie with… as I better understand that you’ve both been on a long road, I am looking to God on your behalf both with joy and tears.
    I agree, “Joy is so worth pursuing”!

  3. cjbooth85 says:

    Thanks Tim, that means so much. Yeah, this bend in the road was not totally unexpected. Janie just said tonight, “if I could just have even one day with no coughing and a normal voice, that would be great. I would do so much! And it makes me realize how I took those things for granted before I lost them. We waste a lot of time, don’t we?”

    I just sat there with a lump in my throat. We should attempt more by the Spirit, shouldn’t we?

Leave a Reply

