Ephesians 4 – the “change” chapter

Faith hope and love…

Let’s see… if we consider 1 Corinthians 13 as the “love” chapter and Hebrews 11 as the “faith” chapter, what will we consider the ‘hope’ chapter?  How about the ‘change’ chapter?

I just spent the last two days with my wife and several others from my church at a NANC Counseling and Discipleship Training conference down near Philly in their “Fundamentals” training course.  Wow!  Really, really good.  It was very concentrated and I hope the next few days and weeks will be fruitful in my mind and life as I consider God’s word, especially in this area of progressive sanctification…. “change”.  Biblical change.

“…to be renewed in the spirit of your minds,”

I’m still meditating on this verse from the “change” chapter in Ephesians 4, verse 23.  What does this mean?  What does this look like?  How is this done?  …in me first and progressively, and then in others similarly.

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.   2 Timothy 3:16-17

I’m sure there will be more…  and one homework assignment I’ve got is to memorize Eph 4:22-24… “word perfect and with expression”.  (I like that qualification.  I’ve been teaching my children to read God’s word with reverence; care; expression appropriate to the tone of the text; clearly, so it can be heard)

22 to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.  Ephesians 4:22-24

  • Putting off the old self and putting on the new self.
  • Becoming scripture-oriented rather than feeling-oriented.
  • Being motivated by the love of Christ rather than lust.
  • Being renewed in how and what we think.

I’m looking forward to the next weekend in May… really good stuff!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ephesians 4 – the “change” chapter

  1. mlsmyth663 says:

    FINALLY!!!! What’s it take to get logged in on WordPress anyway??

    Well, I already posted a response on FB when I wasn’t able to log in here before… But, just one more thought as I consider my previous experience memorizing Ephesians: the change described in chapter 4 of this awesome book is predicated on the living relationship described in chapters 1 through 3. One would do well to meditate a while on these chapters as they memorize 4:22-24, so they ‘get’ the foundation of the Change!

  2. TimWitten says:

    Haha, that’s what I love to see… perseverance! ;]

    I with you completely on that… ch4 vs22-24 do not stand alone. They are a ‘part’ of Paul’s letter and like you said, the incredible ‘foundation’ is proclaimed in the first three chapters. Gotta love context! 🙂 Thanks MaryLou.

Leave a Reply

