Sharing hope and sorrow

I should be reading in Esther right now, but after getting ready for church, grabbing coffee and sitting down here at my desk I went to take a quick look at what has been happening over the past several days.  My wife and I, along with several others from church were at the second weekend of the NANC Biblical Counseling conference and so my head is already pretty full.

I went down my list of blogs and as I stopped in on EarnestlyICQ, I was caught by this beautiful fresh picture revealing a double rainbow.  I started in to reading to see what Chris would have to say and I was stopped short.  He shares that God has finally taken his dear wife, Janie, home.

It’s the utmost desire of any believer’s heart… to be with Jesus Christ.  It’s clear that Chris and his family including Janie are all rejoicing in that very present reality.  It’s the suddenness… the very real change that each event brings to bear on our lives as it occurs… the shared understanding and awareness of another’s pain and sorrow… even the good-bad desire to step in and change or control things we have absolutely no control over.

I was faced with God’s word quite a bit over the past two days at this conference.  What I found was that God has much to say to me, to any who will repent and believe, about His view on things… His truth… His thoughts… His ways.  And God’s counsel and revelation are eternal; they address me/us right here and right now, but the purpose is not just grounded in a moment but rather for eternity.

I know that Romans 8:28 can, will and should bring comfort to any who are suffering and sorrowing; and I love that verse.  “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”  I am learning to love it afresh as it is eternally spoken right along with verse 29, “For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.” 

In all that God does for His glory, the kind intention of His will is to lovingly and perfectly conform me/us to the image of his Son.  In order that Jesus Christ, God the Father’s beloved Son in whom He is well-pleased, might be the firstborn among many brothers. 

I didn’t know Janie and I only know Chris through a shared fellowship in Jesus Christ as we communicate through blogging.  But, I am confident of this… they are my family in Christ and I love and hurt for them today.  If you are in Christ, would you pray too for the Booth family, as we learn to share in Christ’s sufferings and one another’s sufferings.

A double rainbow…  reminds me of Hebrews 6,

For when God made a promise to Abraham, since he had no one greater by whom to swear, he swore by himself,  saying, “Surely I will bless you and multiply you.”  And thus Abraham,  having patiently waited, obtained the promise.  For people swear by something greater than themselves, and in all their disputes an oath is final for confirmation.  So when God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath,  so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.  We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain,  where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharing hope and sorrow

  1. Tim – I just moments ago read Chris’s post. My heart aches. Your words above are sensitive, timely and beautiful. Hallelujah! An “anchor for the soul!”

  2. cjbooth85 says:

    Hey Tim thanks so much for this post. I am again shocked at your care for me and my family, seeing as we have never met and only know each other via blogging.

    Amazing that you mention Heb 6. Janie had requested that this verse be one of the ones shared at her memorial service!

    we are doing ok. Yesterday we sat around and stared at each other…not so good! Today (monday) was better since there was so much to do…

    Anyway, you are a blessing Tim…thanks again for this really nice post.

Leave a Reply

