Jonah… Man overboard or man in the mirror?

I have just started this week to read and begin thinking about this fifth book of the twelve Minor Prophets… Jonah.

As I’ve read through these four chapters several times I have to admit that I had the distinct impression that a mirror had been put before me and I was seeing various issues, responses, sins and graces reflecting back to me.  I’m looking forward to my time in this book.  I’m fully trusting in the counsel of 2 Timothy 3:16-17,  All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.  I know my Heavenly Father is speaking.

Here is a quote from a book by Sinclair Ferguson, titled “Man Overboard!”, who writes a short commentary on Jonah…

“If there is a special danger for professing Christians
today, it must certainly be indifference to and
ignorance of the true nature of the human heart! How
easily outward behavior and established patterns
of belief can hide from us the true need we have for
a new heart which beats in time with the heart of
God! We should never be deceived into thinking
that outward conformity to group norms, professions
of conversion, or intellectual assent to orthodox
doctrines are the same thing as a true heart knowledge
of God.” (p. 87)

One thing I see here in The Book of Jonah is the wideness of God’s mercy and the depth of His love.  I believe this is, in part, why I’m considering Jonah at this time .  I am truly looking forward to see what I know is here… the over-flowing, abundant grace of God.

The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.  The Lord is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.  Psalm 145:8-9

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jonah… Man overboard or man in the mirror?

  1. We must be using the same reading plan! I wrote about Jonah a couple days ago :D. Amazing to see just how weak and human Jonah was as one of God’s prophets, over against the gigantic mercy of God!

Leave a Reply

