reconciliation… to the glory of God

Ever been at odds with your brother or sister in Christ?

Ever not wanted to fix it?  Ever wanted to hold onto the injustice of it all?  Ever wanted to demand that God rain down justice for  your pain and confusion and personal suffering?

Ever considered that someone else is wanting the same for you?  That the pain and frustration you feel… they are feeling?

What to do?

Matthew 5: 21- 26

 “You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not murder; and whoever murders will be liable to judgment.’  But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.  So if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.  Come to terms quickly with your accuser while you are going with him to court, lest your accuser hand you over to the judge, and the judge to the guard, and you be put in prison.  Truly, I say to you, you will never get out until you have paid the last penny.

Reconciliation is not easy…  emotions cloud the issues… we don’t always hear one another well.  And, we often are sinning against our brother in our invectives… our subtle jabs… our constant desire to vindicate ourselves, rather than leave vengeance to God. 

Is it possible that we don’t know humility at all?  Is it possible that we don’t understand the  love of Christ… at all?  Selfless love?  Sacrificial love?

Thy Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path…. Help me, dear Jesus.

and then the Enemy stokes up the fire… what will you do?

(added) and then the Enemy goes after… not you, but one you love… what will you do? 

 I wonder what emotions were stirred up in the shepherd boy, David… at the presence of a lion or a bear coming after the sheep.  He did not sit idle, of this I am sure.  Here is where I go today…

[The Lord Is My Shepherd]
[A PSALM OF DAVID.]
  [23 :1] The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
  [2 ] He makes me lie down in green pastures.
 He leads me beside still waters.
  [3 ] He restores my soul.
 He leads me in paths of righteousness
  for his name’s sake.
  [4 ] Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
  I will fear no evil,
 for you are with me;
  your rod and your staff,
  they comfort me.
  [5 ] You prepare a table before me
  in the presence of my enemies;
 you anoint my head with oil;
  my cup overflows.
 [6 ] Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
  all the days of my life,
 and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
  forever.
(Psalm 23 ESV)

Jesus Christ is my SAVIOR.  Jesus saves… He intercedes… He guards… protects… stands in my place… He sanctifies… the Living Word.  He is the glorious Gospel… the greatest Good News for me.

(preach the Word to yourselves in the middle of the daily skirmishes with the enemy…preach the Word).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

