The Calvary Road – Roy Hession

I’m posting something here that I was reminded of by a friend’s facebook status, thanks Ted&Ivy :).  It brought me back to Roy Hession’s book ‘The Calvary Road’.  If you can find a copy, I highly recommend it.  (my last two copies are in someone else’s hands, so I may need to get a few more).

‎1 John 1:7-If we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ, His Son, cleanseth us from all sin.
‘When anything reproves us, shows up as we really are–that is light. But whenever we do anything or say anything(or don’t say anything) to hide what we are or what we’ve done –that is darkness.‘ -Roy Hession

My first response is… I’m hopeless!  It seems my default is a quick and seamless shift into the shadows when it comes to owning up to my sin.  And, my second response is… but thanks be to God who gives us the victory in Jesus Christ!  This guy, Roy Hession, does a good job exposing man’s heart and fleshly response to the Light we are called to walk in.  I am reminded of Isaiah’s response to the Light… to God’s holiness– “Woe is me, I am undone.”   
And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”
(Isaiah 6:5 ESV)
Out of the heart the mouth speaks… Isaiah responds honestly and accurately here… “I am a man of unclean lips…”
 
[Walking in the Light]
 [5 ] This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. [6 ] If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. [7 ] But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. [8 ] If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. [9 ] If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. [10 ] If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.
(1 John 1:5-10 ESV)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Calvary Road – Roy Hession

  1. adkkid1973 says:

    I saw the Rothfi post too. Good stuff. Didn’t think about getting the book till this post.

    Free on kindle! Score!

    Thanks for sharing my friend!

  2. TimWitten says:

    hmmm I’m tempted to just put my order in for the Kindle. I got Amanda the ipad for Christmas and I understand that if I have a kindle account, there’s an app to load the same books to the ipad. I’m really wanting to dig back into some reading this year.
    Anyway, Hession challenged me in that book when I read it a few years ago… I would like to go back and be reminded. 🙂

Leave a Reply

