Rock of Ages

It had been a long time since I remember singing this song at church, but we did last week and I was blessed to remember words tucked away in my memory that are so rich in truth from God’s Word.  Augustus M. Toplady’s hymn, Rock of Ages… I tried to find a audio/video version to post with the lyrics, but sadly most are either really hard to listen to musically… or they’ve changed the words and the intended truth Toplady was retelling.  So, a silent meditation on the words seemed best.

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,

let me hide myself in thee;

let the water and the blood,

from thy wounded side which flowed,

be of sin the double cure;

save from wrath and make me pure.

 

Not the labors of my hands

can fulfill thy law’s commands;

could my zeal no respite know,

could my tears forever flow,

all for sin could not atone;

thou must save, and thou alone.

 

Nothing in my hand I bring,

simply to the cross I cling;

naked, come to thee for dress;

helpless, look to thee for grace;

foul, I to the fountain fly;

wash me, Savior, or I die.

 

While I draw this fleeting breath,

when mine eyes shall close in death,

when I soar to worlds unknown,

see thee on thy judgment throne,

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,

let me hide myself in thee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rock of Ages

  1. melruel says:

    I too was very blessed by that song! it had been a LONG time since we have sang..sung.. however you say that!

  2. TimWitten says:

    Hi Mel,
    Seems amazing how much the roots of Truth… the Gospel have in keeping us steadfast and sure while the billows role… fastened to the Rock which cannot move.

    New.. and old. Words take from the Word are an anchor.

Leave a Reply

