Jesus, I come to Thee

Today, I think back to all the hymns I used to think were so boring as a youth.  I wasn’t interested in the words… I wanted something… anything… upbeat to sing in church!  🙂  Of course, now I’m seeing things much differently and I keep trusting that my children and all the youth, young adults and those who have come to Christ later in life will listen and hear the wonderful story of Jesus, told in many ways through the great hymns from our older brothers and sisters…

This one, I had tucked away… not wanting it’s slow pensive meter, but today the words caught my attention and I had to post it for myself and any who would read, or perhaps remember and sing it to the glory of God.

Jesus, out of my sin and into Thyself… I come to Thee.  Out of my shameful failure and loss… out of distress, despair, unrest and arrogant pride, out of fear and out of ruined years… I come to Thee, sweet blessed Lamb of God who takes away my sin, Into the glorious gain of Thy cross.  Into the peace of Thy shepherding fold, ever Thy glorious face to behold… Jesus I come to Thee.

Jesus, I Come to Thee 

Out of my bondage, sorrow, and night,
Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into Thy freedom, gladness, and light,
Jesus, I come to Thee;
Out of my sickness, into Thy health,
Out of my want and into Thy wealth,
Out of my sin and into Thyself,
Jesus, I come to Thee.
 
Out of my shameful failure and loss,
Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into the glorious gain of Thy cross,
Jesus, I come to Thee.
Out of earth’s sorrows into Thy balm,
Out of life’s storms and into Thy calm,
Out of distress to jubilant psalm,
Jesus, I come to Thee.
 

Out of unrest and arrogant pride,
Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into Thy blessèd will to abide,
Jesus, I come to Thee.
Out of myself to dwell in Thy love,
Out of despair into raptures above,
Upward for aye on wings like a dove,
Jesus, I come to Thee.

Out of the fear and dread of the tomb,
Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come;
Into the joy and light of Thy throne,
Jesus, I come to Thee.
Out of the depths of ruin untold,
Into the peace of Thy sheltering fold,
Ever Thy glorious face to behold,
Jesus, I come to Thee.

By Your grace alone, I come to Thee, Lord Jesus.  Thank You.

Keep me, please keep me… faithful to You on this journey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

