You Want to See the Glory of Christ?

You want to see the Glory of Christ? …Read the Scriptures.

By way of personal confession and repentance, it is NOT good to be ruled by your own thoughts and emotions.  In fact it is nothing short of sin, be it subtle or out and out flaunted rebellion; either way, it is debilitating and deadly.  Thanks be to God for His mercy and His grace and His forgiveness and His eternal and sure salvation through Jesus Christ.

Another truth I am reminding myself of is the reality and need for faith.  Without faith… well let’s hear how God says it,

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” (Heb 11:6)

I don’t know about you, but I have no real problem believing God exists, but I think my problem often lies in believing that He exists as who He is in ALL of His being.  Maybe there’s the temptation to stop believing that God exists as a ‘good’ God… a ‘just’ God… a ‘loving’ God.  When I stop believing by faith that God is ‘All-satisfying’ then I am hard-wired to look somewhere else for what I might consider all-satisfying (this is where everything always falls apart, sooner or later).  The trouble is that part of my hard-wiring is still connected to this body of sin… my flesh… my way of thinking and feeling and doing.  And since my flesh walks by sight… that is the only place I can go for satisfaction, apart from Christ.

A pastor friend of mine often repeats these words… “Sin will take you farther than you want to go, keep you longer than you want to stay, and cost you more than you want to pay.”  I agree fully and experientially.  But again, “Thanks be to God who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

This morning, I saw this meditation sitting out on my desk… one I’ve been blessed with before and take joy in reading again.  It actually comes from a blog post from ‘Ordinary Pastor’.  I’m glad to borrow it and post it here for myself and any who would be encouraged by it.

You Want to See the Glory of Christ? Read the Scriptures

March 13, 2011 in Ordinary Pastor with 2 Comments

For we did not follow cleverly devised myths when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of his majesty. For when he received honor and glory from God the Father, and the voice was borne to him by the Majestic Glory, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased,” we ourselves heard this very voice borne from heaven, for we were with him on the holy mountain. (1 Peter 1.16-17)

Would you not have loved to have been there on the Mountain with Peter? No doubt it would be the highlight of our lives to see the glory of Christ in such a dazzling manner and to hear the words of God affirming him.

It is interesting to consider how the Apostle Peter later wrote about this event.

How would he look back on this and speak of it? How does he frame it? How would he continue telling the story and making application for his fellow Christians?

And we have something more sure, the prophetic word, to which you will do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts, knowing this first of all that no prophecy of Scripture comes from someone’s own interpretation.  For no prophecy was ever produced by the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit. (1.19-21)

Do you see what Peter is saying here?

If you want to hear the Father’s thunderous approval of Jesus, you must read the Scriptures! It is there!

If you want to see the glory of Christ, you must read the Scriptures! It is there.

If you want to find yourself overwhelmed by the greatness of God, read the Scriptures. It is there.

(emphasis mine, tw)

In verse 21, Peter indicates that the Scriptures come via the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is God. He communicates the glory of Trinity to us.

Peter is saying here, “You have something better than my memories, you have the sure and certain words of God! These testify to the glory of Christ.”

So read the Scriptures with the same type of eager expectation to see the glory of Christ that would have characterized Peter. You will hear the same message: “This is my beloved Son! Listen to him!”

All I can add is a humble and hearty AMEN!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Want to See the Glory of Christ?

  1. That’s good stuff! Man I know when I get my attention and affections of off Christ everything just goes haywire.

  2. TimWitten says:

    Amen… and I’m sorta glad it all goes haywire so quickly. It serves me as an immediate reminder I’m getting in trouble somehow and I need to repent and believe my Savior is more than enough.

Leave a Reply

