Watch and Pray – O Happy Day

I read this quote earlier today and was reminded again of the simple truths I often neglect in diligently guarding my heart.

This pastor, J. C. Ryle, could go so deep into the truth of God’s word and yet he doesn’t seem to forget to admonish his congregation with the most simple truths we/I often sidestep. … grateful to God for this brother!

‎”Let us never forget that our chief danger is from WITHIN. The world and the devil combined, cannot do as much harm as our OWN hearts can, if we do not watch and pray.” ~ J.C. Ryle

Okay, so a great memory came back to me at the phrase ‘watch and pray’.  It was of my dad singing a song in the truck on those few occasions I would go to work with him or just be driving somewhere together… “Oh happy day, happy day…when Jesus washed my sins away. He taught me how to watch and pray… and live rejoicing every day. Happy Day… happy day… when Jesus washed my sins away.”

Here’s a version that “didn’t” sound like my dad’s… but I like it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

