Are You Always the Hero of Your Stories? – Ordinary Pastor blog

Whether it’s for prescribed use or preventive use, this is good medicine to take now and again…

Are You Always the Hero of Your Stories?

Several years back I experienced one of those “ah-ha” moments. My wife and I were hanging out together and seemed to be quite enjoying some time of conversation.

Then she lovingly hit me with this forearm shiver: “Did you ever notice that you are always the hero of your stories?”

It knocked me off of my feet. My wife was saying that I routinely made myself out to be the hero in all of our talking about life, family, and even ministry. She mentioned how rare it was to hear of my own vices, instead, she said, she heard of others’. 

Click here to read on…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are You Always the Hero of Your Stories? – Ordinary Pastor blog

  1. cjbooth85 says:

    Good heavens, of all the days for you to post this! I was literally writing a post about myself AS HERO and thought I’d check my email. Lo and behold, there’s Tim Witten reposting something called, “Are You Always the Hero of Your Stories? ”

    What to do? What to DO?!

    You are thinking, “Ah. I saved a poor wretch from a lifetime (or at least a moment) of Pride.”

    Well, I actually decided to publish it…I hope you can forgive me and if you decide to read it, I *think* you’ll see why.

    Thanks for reposting it Tim.

    -Chris

    btw: “3) Jesus can’t be the hero when you are.” That’s fabulous and painful.

    • TimWitten says:

      Hi Chris… Hahah, I think your hero story gets an exception 😉 and I’m glad to be reminded of Tozer’s, The Knowledge of The Holy… a favorite of mine in many ways. Good to hear from you… trusting you are well. -Tim

Leave a Reply

