Responding to Psalm 32

 Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,   whose sin is covered.  Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity,   and in whose spirit there is no deceit. (Psalm 32:1-2 ESV)

There is no better blessing than this!  Forgiveness.  Lord, let me wait here and feel the weight of glory in this truth.

 For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away   through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy upon me;   my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer. Selah (Psalm 32:3-4 ESV)

Unconfessed sin.  I wonder how many times the pain I feel, both in soul and body, and the apathy that can take up residence in my heart for a season is due to unconfessed sin.  I am the one who suffers for maintaining deceit in my spirit through lack of repentance for my sinfulness… my iniquity.  God, I’m sorry; help me to be up front with You.  Anything else is just plain stupid and an affront to your holiness.

 I acknowledged my sin to you,   and I did not cover my iniquity;  I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD,”   and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah (Psalm 32:5 ESV)

Thank God and worship Him.  He gave us Christ… all we have is Christ… and in Jesus Christ we have forgiveness of sin!  Why would I hold on to the guilt and shame that He has already taken away?  Lord, I confess…

 Therefore let everyone who is godly   offer prayer to you at a time when you may be found;  surely in the rush of great waters,   they shall not reach him.  You are a hiding place for me;   you preserve me from trouble;   you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah (Psalm 32:6-7 ESV)

Delivered!!  Hallelujah, Jesus Christ found me and saved me when I was lost and in sin.  He provided for Himself to be found!  You God, have kept and are keeping me from that which kills the body and soul.  Thank You for Your shouts of deliverance.  Where would I be without your warnings, encouragements, and instruction which preserve me from trouble and get me out of it when I rebel and run headlong into it.

 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;   I will counsel you with my eye upon you.  Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding,   which must be curbed with bit and bridle,   or it will not stay near you. (Psalm 32:8-9 ESV)

I am so grateful for our face to face counseling sessions.  You intervene and save me perfectly according to Your will.  Thank you for the understanding you impart to me through your Word and by your Spirit!  They are life to me.  I want to be near you, please keep me close.

 Many are the sorrows of the wicked,   but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the LORD.  Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, O righteous,   and shout for joy, all you upright in heart! (Psalm 32:10-11 ESV)

Oh God, your steadfast love is better than life.  My lips will praise you and my heart sings for joy for this new heart that You have given me… a heart that can see You, know You, and love You in response to who You are.

I am GLAD in the LORD!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Responding to Psalm 32

  1. Pingback: Resources for Psalms 32:5 - 10

Leave a Reply

