Sputum? Horrific?

Dear GPBC,

Money (and us) may distract our sons and daughters from going into all the world to preach the Gospel. What can we do, what will we do to remove all obstacles AND to encourage their obedience to follow Jesus, as he went from town to town preaching ‘repent and believe’?

I can’t say I grew up being pressed and encouraged to follow Jesus Christ; rather to live and let live, peaceably. It was a piece of the gospel, but a tragically small piece. I did learn all of the code and the expectations, but I somehow missed the desire and delight of knowing and following our Savior. His mission was somehow put before me sermon after sermon; how could I have missed its charge to me (and you) personally?!

I even grew up knowing this text, and in some degree of reality, being influenced by it… “I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.” (Revelation 3:15-16 ESV)

I feared this Word. I did not want to be spit out from God! This was an anchor for my soul in my youth. Glory to God. I am so needy, yet I would never admit it. I am so lukewarm, but I don’t even have a sense of it; I assume so much. Help me, help us. God, please, we are desparately wicked and deceived, please help us.

And so this word speaks clearly to me and perhaps to you?

My younger brother in Jesus Christ, Jack, spurred me on today with the following clip. Thank you Lord. I am too worldly… I am consumed with earthly-directed thinking to the degree that I divorce myself from the essential integration of faith and living… my faith somehow gets compartmentalized and boxed away from the day to day decision-making, from the 1 yr, 3 yr, 5 yr, 10 yr plan? Where do I want to live becomes a place on Earth rather than a hope in Glory. God help me. God help us. Please, specifically help us, your church at GPBC to know and love and follow you to the ends of the earth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sputum? Horrific?

  1. Warnings. They are so good. And necessary. Warnings are one of the tools God uses to help us persevere. They urge us to cast ourselves upon Christ and His mercy.

    • TimWitten says:

      Amen, I love warnings. They are so good, they are like shouts of deliverance (Ps32:7) when we need them most… when we don’t see the trouble yet need His protection and help just the same.

Leave a Reply

