Keeping it Real…without swagger

I don’t do impressions.  But here are a few impressions I have about James…

I don’t think James was too cool in his culture or that he carried himself with style that drew attention from his peers, or that he had swagger.  I could be wrong.

I think he likely got chided about ‘speaking the truth in love’.  I’m not getting the impression that his peers readily warmed up to his words, though I definitely know and believe that they were spoken in love… at least according to James 1:19.

Final impression.  I think James was a man who kept it real.  He was, afterall, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ.  He was a chosen voice through whom God communicated to man, to His church.  He was a man of prayer… the kind of prayer that makes an impression on people.  “It was said that James’ knees became so calloused from prayer that they resembled the knees of a camel.”

P.S. –  One more impression… I don’t think people then or people now like having a ‘reality mirror’ put up before them.  I think James’ letter to the church does that.  I know it does that for me.  And I come away asking myself, ‘am I a doer of the Word or just a hearer only?’

In closing, I’m including a link to ‘What Matters Most’ because I believe it speaks well of another ‘impression’ or perhaps ‘false impression’ many have about following Jesus and seeing His kingdom come… ‘The Kingdom in Reverse’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Keeping it Real…without swagger

  1. Lynn says:

    Thanks, Tim. The word “prioritize” came to mind. I need to look into my reality mirror more closely.

Leave a comment