Said the Father to the son

Note to self–
In recent passages I’m reading from James 2 about the sin of partiality and loving my neighbor as I love myself without showing partiality; and from Jesus at the end of Mt 5 about loving your enemies in context with his command that I am to be perfect even as my heavenly Father is perfect. And then Peter speaks to my relationship with God by identifying me as an obedient child and follows with “but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all of your conduct, since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

Living as sons of God here and now, I am to be like Jesus, bearing his image who is the very image of God.

Tall order… But with God all things are possible, especially if I am dead and my life is hidden with Christ in God; for I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself up for me.

Father in heaven, You are good! Thank you in Jesus’ name.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

