What do I know of Holy?

You have said, “Seek my face.”
My heart says to you,
“Your face, LORD, do I seek.”
(Psalm 27:8 ESV)

I’m surrounded with things that should inform and point me to holiness.  I don’t have to step but four or five feet from this desk and I can grab all sorts of books and resources expounding holiness.  J.C. Ryle’s book ‘Holiness’, which I’ve barely scratched the surface of; my newest acquisition from Keven DeYoung, ‘The Hole in Our Holiness’; Jerry Bridges, ‘The Pursuit of Holiness; my sermon notes from Isaiah 6… no lack of available helps to consider holiness, but, what do I know of Holy?

“…I guess I thought that I had figured You out.  I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about how You were mighty to save.  But those were only empty words on a page.  Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be…”

What do I know of Holy?

 And one called to another and said:
 “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts;
 the whole earth is full of his glory!”
And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke. And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”
Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”

(Isaiah 6:3-7 ESV)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

