Sin is our deepest problem

“Another help is to remember that the diagnosis of sin is never the last word.  Instead, the last word is Jesus Christ.  Sin should take us right to Jesus.”  (Edward T. Welch)

 Thus says the LORD:
“Heaven is my throne,
and the earth is my footstool;
what is the house that you would build for me,
and what is the place of my rest?
All these things my hand has made,
and so all these things came to be,
declares the LORD.
But this is the one to whom I will look:
he who is humble and contrite in spirit
and trembles at my word.
(Isaiah 66:1-2 ESV)

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your steadfast love;
according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions.
Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin!
(Psalm 51:1-2 ESV)

 Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God,
O God of my salvation,
and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness.
O Lord, open my lips,
and my mouth will declare your praise.
For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it;
you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.
The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.
(Psalm 51:14-17 ESV)

l

Verse 1
I am a sinner; You’re blameless, Lord
My sins against You can’t be ignored
They will be punished, I know they must
Your law demands it, for You are just

Pre-Chorus
If You would count
Everything that I’ve done wrong
Who could stand?
But there’s forgiveness with You, God

Chorus
Have mercy on me, have mercy on me
A broken and a contrite heart
You won’t turn away
Have mercy on me, have mercy on me
Because of Your steadfast love

Verse 2
Father of mercy, You gave Your Son To make atonement for wrongs I have done
What You required, Jesus fulfilled
I don’t deserve it—I never will

Credits:
Music and words by Pat Sczebel and Dale Bischof
© 2011 Sovereign Grace Worship (ASCAP)/Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

