Bullies and bully pulpits

The Bully Pulpit
According to the “Oxford English Dictionary,” bully pulpit means “a public office or position of authority that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.” It was first used by TR, explaining his view of the presidency, in this quotation — “I suppose my critics will call that preaching, but I have got such a bully pulpit!” The word bully itself was an adjective in the vernacular of the time meaning “first- rate,” somewhat equivalent to the recent use of the word “awesome.” The term “bully pulpit” is still used today to describe the president’s power to influence the public.

Bully pulpits… not what I would call ‘first-rate’, but effective… especially for bullies.

So what do you do with a bully… fight? flight? I’ve done both, but today its not fear rather futility that calls me to walk away. I would be glad to follow my first fleshly instinct and fight, but experience reminds me I’m often left holding a bag of anger which very quickly can become the soil for bitterness.

Too, there’s always the certainty of comeuppance for the bully. I don’t need to bring it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

