Too busy for Gospel living?

Am I too busy to legitimately be able to embrace Philippians 1:27?

“Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel,”

The other morning driving to church, my wife noted that I seemed to be getting perturbed or agitated and I realized it was a result of the fact that I was reviewing and stressing over the mental “to do” list in my mind. I wasn’t thinking about being in the car with my family and enjoying that experience, which will soon enough be gone. I wasn’t thinking about the corporated worship time I would soon be having with my church. No, I was choosing to get distracted with lesser things, and worrying about the time and money it would take to get everything done before the cold winter season set in. I wanted to get everything done so that I could ‘relax’ later… like that ever happens?! ;]

It struck me at our care group as we discussed this passage in Philippians that Jesus Christ knew and never forgot the whole Gospel, from beginning to end. This ‘mind’, His mind, this way of thinking is critical to gospel living. Remembering not just where my salvation began but where it ends inevitably will help me to think and therefore live with the mind of Christ and thus live with a manner of life worthy of the gospel of Christ.

Tall order…. breaking away from the lifestyle and culture of living too busy for the Gospel; but doable in Jesus Christ. Glory to God.

Attached here is a link with a short video commentary from Paul Tripp that I listened to this morning. Good thoughts. http://pjcockrell.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/paul-tripp-on-the-biggest-challenge-facing-the-church-today/

“And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”

Am I living life so busy that I am unable… unwilling to die, to set my agenda aside and count others as more significant than myself? to look to the interests of others and not just my own?

Hmmmm…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

