Today’s Reflections as I begin reading ‘Essential Church?’

Does this thought ever cross your mind?

“What do I do now? I’m barely finding church essential to my own life these days; sometimes it is just one more thing I have to get done this week. Maybe I’ll just take a break for awhile until life quiets down a bit.”

Does this thought ever cross your mind?

“I believe…sort of…that I should be taking my own lack of true interest in living closely and dependent upon the God of my past, the God of my parents, more seriously than I am but who has time for such reflection…too busy.”

“And, here’s a real scary thought I don’t want to face. I’m still desiring to get back to a joyful relationship with the God of my past. I know Jesus Christ is returning soon for His Church, his Body, his Bride; but, I’m not at all certain that my own kids have that desire or belief. And that reality is something they’ve picked up, in part, from me. I conceded too many times to my own sinful selfishness in deference to their wishes; but I knew better then, they didn’t, and now this spiritual malaise they feel is quickly put at ease by some other pursuit or purchase or excuse. The reality is that I have nothing that I see in them today to hang a hope on that they belong to Jesus Christ, that they know and love Him. This really scares me and I can’t keep reaching back to their childhood prayers or their Sunday school exuberance as they got the answers right…”

If they learned from you once before, can they learn from you again? If you ask God to help you address the why of your rebellion, you might return to Joy again, and who knows…maybe they’ll see Joy in you and join you in pursuing Jesus Christ in response to His pursuit of you and them.

“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love. We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:18-19

Some of my thoughts above are directly personal and reflect some of the ebb and flow of my relationship with my Savior, Jesus Christ. I also carry a significant concern that my children continue in their love and relationship with Christ as they move through their teen years and early 20’s. I’m grateful to God that we as a family continue to look to God as our hope in this world. My children are demonstrating a faith in God that is not borrowed from us, their parents. It is the investigation of those thoughts, concerns, and realities that lead me to look for opportunities to offer a reason for you to stop, read, reflect, pray and seek God’ s heart as revealed in his Word to inform and lead you in right thinking and right responding.

One thing I take with me from my brief start into this book, it is that many of us need/want help to stop and find the joy and essential life God intends for us and our children and part of that is our involvement with his Body here on earth. Don’t lose hope and don’t linger in the shadows, rather run to your Savior and be saved.

Now, back to my reading…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

